Virginia First-Time Home Buyer Programs and Assistance
Virginia Housing (formerly Virginia Housing Development Authority) currently lists 6 programs for Virginia buyers, with down payment help up to 5% of the price (about $23,120 on a median-priced home) through Virginia Housing Plus Second Mortgage. Figures below were read from the agency's own pages on September 11, 2026.
Virginia first-time buyer programs open now
Virginia Housing (formerly Virginia Housing Development Authority) is the state's housing finance agency (homebuyer programs page). It runs 5 down payment or closing-cost assistance programs alongside 1 below-market first mortgage. Not specified on a single page; Down Payment Assistance Grant and Closing Cost Assistance Grant are open to 'a qualified first-time homebuyer or repeat buyer purchasing in Areas of Economic Opportunity' (per virginiahousing.com)
| Program | Type | Amount | First-time only | Min. credit | Income limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Down Payment Assistance Grant source | Grant (no repayment) | See program page | No | n/a | Varies; see Virginia Housing Income and Sales Price/Loan Limits page |
| Closing Cost Assistance Grant source | Grant (no repayment) | May be worth up to 2% of the home's purchase price | No | n/a | Varies; see Virginia Housing Income and Sales Price/Loan Limits page |
| Virginia Housing Plus Second Mortgage source | Second mortgage | Maximum 5% of the home's purchase price (can finance 1.5% more than the purchase price if qualified) | No | n/a | Virginia Housing's income limits apply; |
| Military and Veteran Programs - Granting Freedom Program source | Program | See program page | Check | n/a | See program page |
| VA-Guaranteed Loan (via Virginia Housing) source | First mortgage | See program page | No | n/a | See program page |
| Community Land Trust (CLT) financing source | Program | See program page | Check | n/a | See program page |
- Down Payment Assistance Grant. Terms: True grant, never repaid; can be paired with other non-Virginia Housing assistance Purchase price limit: Varies; see Virginia Housing Income and Sales Price/Loan Limits page Must pair with: An eligible Virginia Housing bond FHA/Conventional loan Program page
- Closing Cost Assistance Grant. Terms: True grant, never repaid; can be paired with other non-Virginia Housing grants Purchase price limit: Varies; see Virginia Housing Income and Sales Price/Loan Limits page Must pair with: A Virginia Housing bond Rural Housing Service (RHS/USDA) or Veterans Affairs (VA) loan Program page
- Virginia Housing Plus Second Mortgage. Terms: 30-year fixed-rate second mortgage with no prepayment penalty, paired with a Virginia Housing first mortgage; can also finance part of closing costs if credit score is 680+ Purchase price limit: Varies; see Virginia Housing Income and Sales Price/Loan Limits page Must pair with: A non-bond or bond FHA/Conventional or non-bond Conventional No MI loan from Virginia Housing Program page
- Military and Veteran Programs - Granting Freedom Program. Terms: Provides home modifications for disabled veterans/service members with a service-connected, line-of-duty injury Program page
- VA-Guaranteed Loan (via Virginia Housing). Terms: Federal VA-guaranteed loan offered through Virginia Housing; borrowers eligible for this loan are also eligible for the Closing Cost Assistance Grant; some qualifying veterans may receive 100% financing Program page
- Community Land Trust (CLT) financing. Terms: Buyer purchases only the house (not the land), which is leased long-term (e.g., 99 years) from a nonprofit CLT; resale price is restricted by formula to preserve affordability Where: Served through 5 approved regional CLT partners: Maggie Walker CLT (Richmond area), Virginia Statewide CLT (statewide, including Washington-Arlington-Alexandria), Piedmont CLT (Charlottesville area), Lighthouse Beloved CLT (Lynchburg area), New River Home Trust CLT (Montgomery County/Blacksburg) Program page
City and county programs in Virginia
Local governments run their own down payment funds on top of the state programs. These can be combined with a state loan in most cases; each has its own income limit and area.
- Fairfax County: Fairfax County Down Payment Loan Program. Deferred second loan. Income limit: 80% of Area Median Income (AMI) by household size: 1 person $91,750; 2 $104,900; 3 $118,000; 4 $131,100; 5 $141,600;. First-time buyers only. Official page
How little you can put down
You do not need 20% down. Conventional loans go as low as 3% (through programs like Fannie Mae HomeReady and Freddie Mac Home Possible), FHA loans start at 3.5%, and VA and USDA loans can require nothing down. On Virginia's median-priced home (about $462,400), 3% down is roughly $13,872. Putting 20% down lets you skip private mortgage insurance, but most first-time buyers put down far less.
Who counts as a first-time buyer
For most programs, a first-time buyer is anyone who has not owned a primary residence in the last three years, so many repeat buyers qualify again. Virginia programs often add income and purchase-price limits, which is another reason to confirm the details with Virginia Housing.
Stack a buyer rebate on top in Virginia
Down-payment assistance and a buyer commission rebate are two different things, and in Virginia you can use both. Assistance from Virginia Housing helps with your down payment and closing costs; a buyer rebate returns about 2% of the price to you at closing (roughly $9,248 on a median-priced home), which can cover much of your closing bill.
You may qualify for more help in your county
City and county governments in Virginia run their own down payment programs on top of the state ones, and most can be combined with a state loan. Each county page lists the local programs, income limits and local closing costs alongside the state programs:
- Fairfax County: local help up to $50,000
Frequently asked questions
What first-time home buyer programs are available in Virginia?
Virginia Housing (formerly Virginia Housing Development Authority) lists 6 programs: Down Payment Assistance Grant, Closing Cost Assistance Grant, Virginia Housing Plus Second Mortgage, Military and Veteran Programs - Granting Freedom Program, VA-Guaranteed Loan (via Virginia Housing), Community Land Trust (CLT) financing. Down payment help runs up to 5% of the price (about $23,120 on a median-priced home). Fairfax County also run local down payment programs.
How much down payment assistance can you get in Virginia?
Up to 5% of the price (about $23,120 on a median-priced home) through Virginia Housing Plus Second Mortgage (second mortgage). Other Virginia programs offer different amounts; see the table on this page for each one.
Do you have to be a first-time buyer to qualify in Virginia?
Not for every program. 4 of 6 Virginia programs are open to repeat buyers. Not specified on a single page; Down Payment Assistance Grant and Closing Cost Assistance Grant are open to 'a qualified first-time homebuyer or repeat buyer purchasing in Areas of Economic Opportunity' (per virginiahousing.com)
How much down payment do you need in Virginia?
As little as 3% on a conventional loan, 3.5% on an FHA loan, and 0% on VA or USDA loans. On Virginia's median-priced home (about $462,400), 3% is roughly $13,872. You do not need 20% down, though 20% lets you avoid mortgage insurance.
Who counts as a first-time home buyer?
For most programs, a first-time buyer is anyone who has not owned a primary residence in the last three years. Some Virginia programs also have income and purchase-price limits, so check with Virginia Housing.
Can I combine assistance with a buyer rebate in Virginia?
Yes. A buyer commission rebate is separate from down-payment assistance and is legal in Virginia. Assistance helps with your down payment and closing costs up front; a rebate returns about 2% of the price at closing, which you can put toward closing costs. You can use both.
Official sources
- Virginia Housing (formerly Virginia Housing Development Authority)
- Down Payment Assistance Grant - Virginia Housing
- Closing Cost Assistance Grant - Virginia Housing
- Virginia Housing Plus Second Mortgage
- Military and Veteran Programs - Virginia Housing
- Community Land Trust - Virginia Housing
- Fairfax County Down Payment Loan - Housing and Community Development
- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau: down payment options and how to prepare
Virginia program details last verified against Virginia Housing on September 11, 2026.
Read the full guide to the cash you need to buy →
This is general information, not financial advice. Program details, limits, and loan terms change; confirm the current rules with Virginia Housing and your lender before you rely on them.
See first-time buyer programs in all states