Arkansas First-Time Home Buyer Programs and Assistance

Arkansas Development Finance Authority (ADFA) currently lists 3 programs for Arkansas buyers, with down payment help up to $15,000 through Down Payment Assistance (DPA) Loan Program. Figures below were read from the agency's own pages on September 11, 2026.

Arkansas first-time buyer programs open now

Arkansas Development Finance Authority (ADFA) is the state's housing finance agency (homebuyer programs page). It runs 1 down payment or closing-cost assistance program alongside 2 below-market first mortgages. Not stated in general terms on ADFA's homeownership landing page;

ProgramTypeAmountFirst-time onlyMin. creditIncome limit
StartSmart First-Time Home Buyer Program sourceFirst mortgageBelow-market interest rate mortgage; can be combined with the ADFA Down Payment Assistance second mortgageYesn/aSee program page
ADFA Move-Up Loan Program sourceFirst mortgageBelow-market interest rate mortgage; can be combined with the ADFA Down Payment Assistance second mortgageNon/aSee program page
Down Payment Assistance (DPA) Loan Program sourceSecond mortgage$1,000 to $15,000 for down payment and closing cost assistanceNon/aSee program page
  • StartSmart First-Time Home Buyer Program. Terms: 30-Year Fixed Rate government loan at 5.625% or 30-Year Conventional (Freddie Mac, below 80% AMI) at 5.875%, per ADFA's rate sheet last updated 9/10/2026; funded via tax-exempt mortgage revenue bonds Where: statewide (all 75 counties) Program page
  • ADFA Move-Up Loan Program. Terms: 30-Year Fixed Rate government loan at 6.50%, 30-Year HFA conventional (below 80% AMI) at 6.75%, or 30-Year HFA conventional (above 80% AMI) at 6.875%, per ADFA's rate sheet last updated 9/10/2026 Where: statewide (all 75 counties) Program page
  • Down Payment Assistance (DPA) Loan Program. Terms: Second mortgage matching the first mortgage's term, 10-year term; cash back to borrower allowed for expenses paid outside of closing (POC) Must pair with: ADFA StartSmart or ADFA Move-Up first mortgage Where: statewide (all 75 counties) Program page

City and county programs in Arkansas

Local governments run their own down payment funds on top of the state programs. These can be combined with a state loan in most cases; each has its own income limit and area.

  • City of Little Rock: Down Payment Assistance Program. Up to 6% of the purchase price, not to exceed $5,000. Forgivable second loan. Income limit: At or below 80% of Area Median Income, adjusted for family size. First-time buyers only. Official page
  • City of Fayetteville: Homebuying HERO Down Payment Assistance Program. Assistance not exceeding $25,000 toward closing costs/down payment. Forgivable second loan. Official page

How little you can put down

You do not need 20% down. Conventional loans go as low as 3% (through programs like Fannie Mae HomeReady and Freddie Mac Home Possible), FHA loans start at 3.5%, and VA and USDA loans can require nothing down. On Arkansas's median-priced home (about $270,300), 3% down is roughly $8,109. Putting 20% down lets you skip private mortgage insurance, but most first-time buyers put down far less.

Who counts as a first-time buyer

For most programs, a first-time buyer is anyone who has not owned a primary residence in the last three years, so many repeat buyers qualify again. Arkansas programs often add income and purchase-price limits, which is another reason to confirm the details with Arkansas Development Finance Authority.

Stack a buyer rebate on top in Arkansas

Down-payment assistance and a buyer commission rebate are two different things, and in Arkansas you can use both. Assistance from Arkansas Development Finance Authority helps with your down payment and closing costs; a buyer rebate returns about 2% of the price to you at closing (roughly $5,406 on a median-priced home), which can cover much of your closing bill.

See Arkansas buyer rebates →   See Arkansas closing costs →

Frequently asked questions

What first-time home buyer programs are available in Arkansas?

Arkansas Development Finance Authority (ADFA) lists 3 programs: StartSmart First-Time Home Buyer Program, ADFA Move-Up Loan Program, Down Payment Assistance (DPA) Loan Program. Down payment help runs up to $15,000. City of Little Rock, City of Fayetteville also run local down payment programs.

How much down payment assistance can you get in Arkansas?

Up to $15,000 through Down Payment Assistance (DPA) Loan Program (second mortgage). Other Arkansas programs offer different amounts; see the table on this page for each one.

Do you have to be a first-time buyer to qualify in Arkansas?

Not for every program. 2 of 3 Arkansas programs are open to repeat buyers. Not stated in general terms on ADFA's homeownership landing page; StartSmart is limited to qualified first-time homebuyers (federal mortgage-revenue-bond definition applies per program eligibility pages, which were not individually reachable this session)

How much down payment do you need in Arkansas?

As little as 3% on a conventional loan, 3.5% on an FHA loan, and 0% on VA or USDA loans. On Arkansas's median-priced home (about $270,300), 3% is roughly $8,109. You do not need 20% down, though 20% lets you avoid mortgage insurance.

Who counts as a first-time home buyer?

For most programs, a first-time buyer is anyone who has not owned a primary residence in the last three years. Some Arkansas programs also have income and purchase-price limits, so check with Arkansas Development Finance Authority.

Can I combine assistance with a buyer rebate in Arkansas?

Yes. A buyer commission rebate is separate from down-payment assistance and is legal in Arkansas. Assistance helps with your down payment and closing costs up front; a rebate returns about 2% of the price at closing, which you can put toward closing costs. You can use both.

Official sources

Arkansas program details last verified against Arkansas Development Finance Authority on September 11, 2026.

Read the full guide to the cash you need to buy →

This is general information, not financial advice. Program details, limits, and loan terms change; confirm the current rules with Arkansas Development Finance Authority and your lender before you rely on them.

See first-time buyer programs in all states